Skip to content

It’s all about the details

March 1, 2010

This weekend we didn’t accomplish any huge projects. We spent a lot of time just cleaning, ripping up floors, measuring, and discussing plans (ok, so we also stopped at a flea market for some cute old cameras, saw a movie, and had a couple delicious meals by Terry & Mike too).Β  But with the cleaning and discussion came attention to detail and we got to appreciate some of the little things all over again. We’re going to try and keep most of the house original, including these great doorknobs.

With this attention, we also made some new discoveries. For instance, I was skulking around the basement with a flashlight trying to find a way into the crawlspace under the kitchen when I looked to my left and saw this hanging on the wall:

I took it upstairs to reassure myself that I wasn’t seeing things, and yes, it’s a GRISWOLD piece!

If there is such a thing as fate, this is a sign! I showed it to Griz (the father-in-law) like a little girl on Christmas day showing off her new toy. Him and the boys were more amused by my excitement, but at least Crystal (another new Mrs. Griswold) shared in my joy!

He said Griswold Manufacturing specialized in cast iron cookware, but they made all kinds of things out of iron. He doesn’t know whether there’s any family relation, but if you come over some time and ask, I’ll probably say that there is. πŸ˜‰

I found the company listed on about.com under antiques, and read a brief history. Griz said to keep it down in the basement because we can probably still use it.. but I’ll have to see whether I can fight the urge to use it for decoration!

Oh, and I found a way into that crawslpace. This little door was sitting underneath the stairs in our back workshop room:

Yes, I opened it. I couldn’t see much other than dirt, pipes, and wiring. I got as far in as my waist, stretching out my neck to see as far in as I could, darting the flashlight around… but didn’t dare go further. As much as I wanted to go explore, a bigger part of me kept my feet planted right on the safe cement. If anyone is willing to crawl around in there, let me know. I’ll pay you cash.

Here’s a piece of the house that I picked up in the back yard:

The previous owners said that at some point, the house was made into a “tourist house,” or basically a bed & breakfast. I’ve googled “shady rest” and “shady rest tourists” and “shady rest west springfield” and “shady west springfield” and every other phrase you could imagine, but found nothing. Maybe someday. Till then, I am loving the sign with all my heart and trying to decide whether or not I want to clean it up.

Ok, on to the destruction!! We continued our work in (what will be) the master suite. Originally it was sort of an in-law apartment with a bedroom and a kitchen.. here’s the kitchen part, before- and mid-demolition:

Last week I talked about removing the carpet and the sub-floor in the bedroom–pulling all those nails out of the beautiful hardwood… well this room offered even MORE floor fun because it had an extra layer of kitchen floor!

Yep, that’s 4 layers.. the first 2 held down by a thousand nails. And these weren’t ordinary nails, folks:

These were “seriously I’m a HUGE nail that looks like a screw so don’t mess with me” nails! (I’m saving them, don’t worry).

It’s ok, I got to spend some quality time with my favorite nail claw..

Does breathing chipped lead paint affect your brain that quickly?

Here’s the line-up if you’re curious about the other tools:

And if you’re ever crazy enough to attempt this on your own too, I highly recommend these kneepads, purchased for me by my thoughtful husband:

I also need to mention (and should have earlier) that we are lucky enough to have Michael Griswold (Matt’s brother) in the family. He’s a contractor who’s been helping us out, showing us the ropes and will probably be doing the building and other stuff we shouldn’t attempt on our own. He has already saved us so much time with his expertise, offering help and advice on anything while supporting each decision we’ve made. I am so grateful!

Griz has already put in a lot of time too- we came in one morning, and 2 walls in the kitchen were gone! Turns out he had spent hours chipping away at that heavy old plaster stuck to the brick wall. And last weekend, Matt’s other brother Ben was in town from San Diego, and upon visiting just to “check out” the house he ended up spending some substantial time pulling up floor with us! Thanks guys!

I’m going to end by asking your advice. There are many details we’ll be keeping “original” in this house, but quite a few that are just outdated in a yucky way. A part of me really really likes this old light fixture in one of the bathrooms. Should I keep it?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Pen permalink
    March 2, 2010 12:36 am

    You guys are doing great. You will be so happy that you kept this blog up during your reconstruction process here. What a nice memory. And don’t let the boys get you down…Griswold girls LOVE Griswold Cast Iron. Wait until you learn about Wallace Nutting paintings πŸ™‚

    XOXO

  2. Julie Farrer permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:24 am

    Horse hair plaster indeed – I hope none of you are allergic to horses! It was used in most walls of old houses.

    That mysterious chimney – does it go through the roof? It might have been an odd brick ventilation duct for bathroom odors?

    Question about reinsulating the house – have you thought about what you might use yet? I can offer some greener solutions if you are interested.

    Clawfoot tubs are awesome but I warn you – I have one and you need 3 shower curtains to cover all the sides and when you are showering the plastic blows in, making it feel like you are in some sort of weird decontamination bath. I have not looked into any alternatives, so if you come across a solution (besides only taking baths) please let me know!

    I am in love with this website by the way!

  3. Julie Farrer permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:28 am

    p.s. I have a few books with dates and styles of residential architecture that lay out typical details such as molding and woodwork if you ever need some reference as to what is architecturally significant and worth keeping.

    • March 11, 2010 5:21 am

      oh my! that would be great.. I’ve been dying to figure out what era the inner architecture comes from… each door and window has this molding that comes out at the top corners, rectangular-ish, and I’d love to know when it went up:

      Molding

      Thanks sooo much for all the advice! Fortunately no horse allergy, I actually worked at a barn through high school.. working on this house brings back memories of that. Must be all the dirt and sweat.

      Insulating options would be great. You are probably right about the chimney. It does go up out of the house. Should we keep it?

      One of the clawfoot tubs came with the ring that hangs above it for a curtain to go all the way around, so hopefully that will help.. the other one will only be used as a tub because we’ll have room in the master for a stand-up shower also.

      πŸ™‚ Floor plans to come soon.. I’m totally anal and need them to be perfectly “to scale”before I put them up..

      thankyouthankyouthankyou!

  4. Julie Farrer permalink
    March 12, 2010 1:51 am

    How are you drawing up your floor plans? I will do that for you if it helps! I will look at my book and see if I can find the door details. What year was your house built? I wouldn’t worry about keeping the chimney – though it looks cool. Modern ventilation will render it non-functional.

  5. Julie Farrer permalink
    March 12, 2010 2:11 am

    Sorry for making a million comments…. Based on the book, “The Visual Dictionary of American Domestic Architecture,” the inner architecture appears to be Early English Colonial. The rail and hanging stile of the door is almost an exact match from what I found and your stairwell is pretty spot on. I would think the interior details are from the original construction of the house, as the exterior appears to be the same style. What do you think?

  6. March 12, 2010 1:50 pm

    Interesting… I don’t know, it would be hard to believe the interior is original because the house was built in 1831! But I guess it could be(?). What year range is Early English Colonial here in the states?? It’s ok that you keep leaving comments.. although Matt is making fun of me because we should just “call each other” πŸ™‚ haha.. but by posting online we can share your expertise with everyone!

Leave a comment